The Samadhi

The Samadhi

The Samadhi. Samadhi (Pali and Sanskrit: समाधि), in Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism, and yogic schools, is a state of meditative consciousness. In Buddhism, it is the last of the eight elements of the Noble Eightfold Path.[web 1] In the Ashtanga Yoga tradition, it is the eighth and final limb identified in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.[1][2]

In the oldest Buddhist suttas, on which several contemporary Western Theravada teachers rely, it refers to the development of an investigative and luminous mind that is equanimous and mindful. In the yogic traditions and the Buddhist commentarial tradition on which the Burmese Vipassana movement and the Thai Forest tradition rely, it is interpreted as a meditative absorption or trance, attained by the practice of dhyāna.

Samadhi is a spiritual experience that opens us to the highest state of consciousness and inner bliss.  It is stepping into your enlightened nature that is free from all suffering. Ho Samadhi is found through diving into a consistent state of pure consciousness, that is void of attachment to any thought.

Is Samadhi the same in Hinduism?

Further, you can find diverse teachings about Brahman in many Asian traditions, including Hinduism, Sikhism, and also, Jainism, as well as Buddhism, which can add to the confusion. What is Brahman in Buddhism? The root word of amadhi, sam-a-dha, means “to bring together.”
Samprajnata samadhi is that in which a yogi takes the support of a gross physical object, idea or thought to meditate upon. With the help of this support, the yogi gets psychic powers (Siddhis) and full knowledge of that object.

What does the state of Samadhi feel like?

From these characteristics only, we can infer that achieving state is not an easy task. It does not come to us by accident or luck. The Yogis have to put effort and also, dedication into it. but This is the reason why it is probably the last stage of Yoga. Like all the other limbs of Yoga, brahman also needs a lot of contemplation and practice.

Thus, after the intense practice of dharana and dhyana, the Brahman state unfolds. but In this, the yogi feels no distractions of the mind whatsoever. But He becomes one with the greater identity that is the Supreme self or Bharhman.

How to achieve Samadhi?

One might wonder if the state of Brahman is relevant in daily life. It is possible to achieve the Brahman state and stay in it for some time even amidst our daily actions.

According to Vyasa commentary on Yoga Sutra 1.1, Yoga is Brahman And also, Samadhi is said to lie in all 5 states of mind (Chitta). For example, a painter might forget her immediate physical world while drawing a fine stroke.

On a very basic level, they look like this:
  • Yamas: external disciplines, like universal values.
  • Niyama: internal disciplines, like personal observation.
  • Asana: poses or postures.
  • And also, Pranayama: breath control.
  • APratyahara: withdrawal of the senses.
  • And also, Dharana: concentration.
  • Dhyana: meditation.
  • And also, Samadhi: bliss, or union.
The remaining two types of samadhi are very special states of consciousness. After the eight limbs (yama, niyama, asanas, pranayama, and pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and also, ) brahman are mastered, samadhi is the means used to dive through consciousness.
error: Content is protected !!